Winglish?

Ian Roberts By Ian Roberts, 12th May 2013 | Follow this author | RSS Feed
Posted in Wikinut>Family>Daily Life

My grandson asked me to help him with a story he had to write for his school homework.

Winglish?

Life has been pretty interesting, so far, and I’ve lived in several places, even though I’m only eleven. I was born in Wales, although my mum and dad are English. Well, mum is half Welsh, sort of, so I suppose I’m both Welsh and English. Does that make me Winglish? Maybe it makes me Engelsh. It’s quite confusing, really. My mum gave birth to me in hospital, at a place called Bodelwyddan, which is a strange name, unless you are Winglish and Engelsh. Many names or words can seem strange, if you don’t speak other languages, but Bodelwyddan is a Welsh name, and I speak a little Welsh. English is my first language, but, being at a Welsh School, I have to learn Welsh too. Welsh, or Brethonic, was the original language of Britain and spoken all over the country until invaders from Europe arrived and brought with them their own languages. They were Saxons, and Jutes and Angles, which is where the word English comes from. The Welsh were driven westwards, into the hills and mountains of what is now Wales, and into the lands of the south west of England called Cornwall. Cymraig is the word the Welsh people use to call themselves, and their country is called Cymru. The word Welsh comes from walisc, which means foreigner in the languages of those invaders.

The other place I’ve lived is a village called Rainford, near Wigan and St Helens, in England. It’s where my dad grew up, and dad is a supporter of Wigan Warriors Rugby League Club. I support them as well, but my grandad, in Wales, was born in St Helens and supports the Saints. When I visit my gran and grandad, if I wear my Wigan rugby shirt, grandad says I have to take it off or he won’t let me in the house.

When I left Rainford, I came back to live in Wales, first in Towyn and now in Kinmel Bay. One of the things I like to do best, when I’m not at school, is to go and see my grandma, who loves me to bits. Grandad does too, but he always tells me he doesn’t like me, although I know he’s only joking. Grandma and grandad live on a smallholding, with lots of cats, chickens and some ponies. They had a lovely dog, called Molly, but she became old and died peacefully. When I go to visit grandma, I like to do different jobs such as chopping wood, cleaning out the chickens, building chicken runs and collecting the eggs. I enjoy being busy, and grandma calls me her wonderful little helper. Grandma’s smallholding is called Tyddyn Gwynfa, in Welsh, which means Heavenly Smallholding, and it’s a great place to be. I love to play there, with my sister and cousins, and grandma teaches me to ride the ponies. Not many children have the chance to play in their grandparents’ fields and orchard or to ride ponies and have fun collecting the eggs from the chickens. I think I’m very lucky, and I’m glad I’m Winglish. Or is it Engelsh?

Tags

Children, Family, Grandchildren, Nationality, Relationships

Meet the author

author avatar Ian Roberts
Educated at universities in Britain and California, Ian Roberts is an experienced teacher of English, with one novel in print and three books on sale on Amazon Kindle, to excellent reviews.

Share this page

moderator Mark Gordon Brown moderated this page.
If you have any complaints about this content, please let us know

Comments

author avatar Sivaramakrishnan A
12th May 2013 (#)

Unique and interesting. I learned a lot too. Thanks for the share, Ian - siva

Reply to this comment

author avatar Ian Roberts
13th May 2013 (#)

My Pleasure, and thank you, Siva.

Reply to this comment

author avatar VladEinar
15th May 2013 (#)

It was a pleasure for me to read. Great job! I also learned something about the history of Britain and it's people. Thanks!

Reply to this comment

Add a comment
Username
Can't login?
Password